13 May 2021 08:56

Kemp Powers on De La Soul's "De La Soul Is Dead" (1991)

It’s #MaxFunDrive and if you like what we’re doing here on Heat Rocks, please consider supporting us and our network and help keep the show going!



Director and screenwriter Kemp Powers sits down with us to discuss De La Soul's sophomore effort, De La Soul Is Dead. We get into DLS's shift in image and tone, the growth of Prince Paul as a producer, and Kemp's very , ahem, special connection to the song "Let, Let Me In"

And stay tuned to the very end for a short bonus beats on Kemp's love of dancehall music! 

More on Kemp

More on De La Soul Is Dead

Show Tracklisting (all songs from De La Soul Is Dead unless otherwise indicated):

  • Intro
  • Shwingalokate
  • Jungle Brothers: I'll House You
  • My Brother's A Basehead
  • De La Soul: Brain Washed Followers
  • Pease Porridge
  • Bitties in the BK Lounge
  • Oodles of O's
  • Ring Ring Ring (Ha Ha Hey)
  • Kicked Out the House
  • Skit 1
  • A Roller Skating Jam Named "Saturdays"
  • Millie Pulled A Pistol on Santa
  • Let, Let Me In.
  • Bitties in the BK Lounge
  • Pease Porridge
  • Rap De Rap Show
  • Keepin' The Faith
  • A Roller Skating Jam Named "Saturdays"
  • Oodles of O's
  • A Roller Skating Jam Named "Saturdays"
  • Bitties in the BK Lounge
  • Lou Donaldson: It's Your Thing
  • Bittis in the BK Lounge
  • Ring Ring Ring (Ha Ha Hey)
  • Skit 5
  • Black Sheep: Flavor of the Month
  • The Pharcyde: Otha Fish
  • A Tribe Called Quest: Buggin Out
  • Eek-A-Mouse: Border Patrol
  • Shinehead: Chain Gang Rap
  • Super Cat: Ghetto Red Hot (Remix)
  • Sean Paul: Punkie
  • Super Cat: Dolly My Baby (Remix)
  • Shabba Ranks: Mr. Loverman

If you’re not already subscribed to Heat Rocks in Apple Podcasts, do it here!


Podcastly – лучшая платформа для любителей подкастов. Более 10 миллионов аудио контента доступных на Android/iOS/Web/Desktop и Telegram.